SHARE
Thailand Public Holidays

Thailand’s cultural, ethnic, and religious backgrounds are diverse. Aside from the annual traditional Thai events and festivals, public holidays include other international events and observances. If you wish to explore the real Thailand, join in and celebrate their holidays. Thailand has officially adopted the Gregorian calendar. However, most of its traditional holidays, particularly Buddhist ones, follow the lunar calendar. If a national holiday is on a weekend, the next working day is designated as a compensatory holiday.

January

New Year’s Day

1st January, Sunday, 2023- New Year’s Day- This is the year’s first day as per the Gregorian Calendar

2nd January, Monday, 2023- Day off for the New Year’s Day

14th January, Saturday, 2023- National Children’s Day- This day is an observance in Thailand

16th January, Monday, 2023- Teachers’ Day

22nd January, Sunday, 2023- Lunar New Year’s Day- This is the 1st day of the Chinese calendar. It is a lunisolar calendar used chiefly for traditional celebrations.

23rd January, Monday, 2023- 2nd Day of the Lunar New Year

24th January, Tuesday, 2023- 3rd Day of the Lunar New Year

February

Valentine’s

14th February, Tuesday, 2023- Valentine’s Day- Saint Valentine’s Feast or Valentine’s Day- The origins of Valentine’s Day can be traced back to ancient Roman & European Christian traditions.

March

6th March, Monday, 2023- Makha Bucha- This is a significant holy day that honors the Sangha/the Buddhist community on the third lunar month’s first full moon day.

20th March, Monday, 2023- March Equinox

April

Songkran

6th April, Thursday, 2023- Chakri Day- It is a national holiday in Thailand

13th April, Thursday, 2023- Songkran

May

1st May, Monday, 2023- Labor Day- International Workers’ Day, Labor Day, and May Day are all days off for workers around the world.

4th May, Thursday, 2023- Coronation Day- This is a national holiday in Thailand

11th May, Thursday, 2023- Royal Ploughing Ceremony Day- This is a government holiday in Thailand

June

3rd June, Saturday, 2023- Visakha Bucha- This is a national holiday in Thailand

3rd June, Saturday, 2023- Queen Suthida’s Birthday- This is a national holiday in Thailand

5th June, Monday, 2023- Day off for Visakha Bucha

5th June, Monday, 2023, Day off for Queen Suthida’s birthday

21st June, Wednesday, 2023- June Solstice

July

28th July, Friday, 2023- King Vajiralongkorn’s Birthday- This is a national holiday in Thailand

August

1st August, Tuesday, 2023- Buddhist Lent Day- This is a national holiday in Thailand

12th August, Saturday, 2023- The Queen’s Birthday- This is a national holiday in Thailand

14th August, Monday, 2023- Day off for Queen’s Birthday

September

23rd September, Saturday, 2023- September Equinox

October

13th October, Friday, 2023- Death Anniversary of King Bhumibol- This is a national holiday in Thailand

31st October, Tuesday, 2023- Halloween- It is a holiday observed in many countries on October 31st of each year.

December

Constitution Day

5th December, Tuesday, 2023- Father’s Day/King Bhumibol’s Birthday- On various dates around the world, Father’s Day honors fatherhood and male parenting.

10th December, Sunday, 2023- Constitution Day- This is a national holiday in Thailand

11th December, Monday, 2023- Substitute holiday for the Constitution day

22nd December, Friday, 2023- December Solstice- This is a national holiday in Thailand

24th December, Sunday, 2023- Christmas Eve- Christmas Eve, which falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar, is the day before Christmas Day.

25th December, Monday, 2023- Christmas- Christmas Day, which falls on 25th December in the Gregorian calendar, is one of the most important Christian holidays.

31st December, Sunday, 2023- New Year’s Eve– In the Gregorian calendar, New Year’s Eve is the year’s last day, December 31.

NO COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY